Emiri (Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya) FREEing

emiri1

p1000070emiri3emiri6emiri5green-2

This is Emiri from The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya, the figure is by FREEing. In the anime series Emiri has a very minor role but Haruhi is set up so that there are very few characters in the series that have any presence at all, and Emiri is one of the few. She is part of a collection that FREEing is doing which has every female character in the series in a bunny outfit, so far (other then Emiri) I have Yuki, Tsuruya, and Kyon’s Sister. Go to the Review of Kyon’s Sister to see the original illustration these figures are based off, as well as prototype images of each figure.

full5

full1full2full3full4p1000058

I’m torn over how I feel about Emiri. I think she is a lovely high quality figure, but in comparison to the other bunnies she falls a short in a few ways. Tha MAIN issue I have with her is that her legs were two pieces that appear to have been put together, and just below the knee there is a line where the two pieces of the legs meet. I don’t like that at all, it’s quite noticeable and instantly brings down the whole figure. I also kind of dislike her face, because her eyebrows are that light green color her face looks large and plain because her eyebrows aren’t noticeable. But maybe that’s more of an issue that I have with the design of the character and FREEing is simply accurately representing her.

p1000062

p1000054p1000055p1000056emiri-close

Some have complained that her pose looks awkward. But I like how awkward it is, it’s kind of cute how she has her knees pointing the way she does. I also really like that she is a sitting character, she really brings balance to the whole group when they’re all together. You have Yuki standing straight as the tallest, and then Tsuruya slightly bending over as the second tallest, and Emiri perched on her seat as the third tallest. I think this will look really great with all the shorter figures spread all around in front of these taller three.

p1000016

p1000019p1000018p1000049p1000075p1000081

I’m not sure I like that Yuki and Tsuruya have a base with a mirror while Emiri is on a white cylinder and the other (sitting) girls have none. But frankly I can’t criticize this too much because I can’t think of a better base situation. I love how Emiri’s hair looks in this figure.

Basically my verdict is that she is a great figure to complete your FREEing bunny collection. But if you can only buy one figure from the set choose another one. Personally If I could only choose one it’d be Ryoko, but she happens to be one of my favorite characters and her figure is very complimentary.

 

Please note: I was experimenting with my new camera when I took all these pictures so there is a bit less structure then I usually have. I also bought “full spectrum” bulbs yesterday and will start using them from now on, but my next figure postings will be from before I got the bulbs.

9 Responses to Emiri (Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya) FREEing

  1. Persocom says:

    I don’t see anything wrong with the pictures, it’s good to experiment once in a while ^^ First thing I noticed were those lines below the knees, that is a real turn off, such a weird place for lines and even noticeable through the fishnets. I agree that compared to others I’ve seen she wouldn’t be the first pick to get, but she does look good in her own way. I also would have loved to get Ryoko, but alas, FREEing bunnies are too expensive at a time when money is short for me. I just think for the price they should be a little more well done (like those lines)

  2. phossil says:

    Are all the gang in cute bunny costumes??

  3. Otaku Dan says:

    nice pictures. I think that Emiri should have had a bigger role in the anime

  4. Rin says:

    It’s a really nice figure!!!!!!
    Nice photos too!!!!!
    The problem is it’s extremely expensive as it is around $100….Asakura Ryoko cost a lot more…
    Still, I do like what freeing does for these figures!!!! I can’t wait for their new releases!!!!

  5. lovelyduckie says:

    @ Phossil – yup all bunnies, I just got the rest the other day and will eventually be posting full set pics

    @ Dan – I agree I want to learn more about her. I’m hoping I’ll learn more about her in either the light novels or the new season of anime

  6. Orange says:

    These are expensive bunnies… 😀

    Do you ever plan completing the whole set?

  7. lovelyduckie says:

    @ Orange – Yup I just finished collecting the bunnies the other day. Haruhi, Mikuru, and Ryoko came in.

  8. Blowfish says:

    You really completed them?WOW!
    When i think about how many figures i could have bought for that much money ^^

  9. lovelyduckie says:

    @ Blow – I typically don’t spend this much on figures either but the quality and the fact that they were 1/4 scale helped me justify their price. They look simply lovely all together and my boyfriend really likes them too. And he NEVER notices my figures.

Leave a comment