Kyon’s Sister (FREEing) Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya

This figure is of Kyon’s Sister from The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya and is made by FREEing. This figure is part of FREEing’s 1/4 scale Haruhi Suzumiya Bunny Collection. The outfits (and some of the poses) from this collection seem to be inspired from the Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya illustration pictured below. I happen to have this wall scroll hanging up in the bedroom, it was an impulse buy from the f.y.e. in the mall.

I was very hesitant about buying this figure. Her face is incredibly adorable, I love that she is doing a ‘V’ sign, and Kyon’s Sister looks positively charming in pink. She is the very picture of innocence and enthusiasm. Why was I hesitant? Well as a fan of Haruhi Suzumiya I feel like there is nothing wrong with this figure since the bunny outfit thing is just a theme from the show. But I was worried that to someone who doesn’t watch anime and has no idea what The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya is (like my family) that it would look like I have a figure like this just to have an elementary student dressed up as a Playboy bunny. In the end my reasoning was that if I’m collecting them all it wouldn’t seem so weird. But I honestly consider this my riskiest figure just because of that. Although my worries are probably unecessary since I already have that wall scroll hanging up, it’s probably about time I stopped concerning myself over such trivial worries when I’m already beyond all help when it comes to owning weird anime stuff.

Kyon’s Sister has an alternative hand choice. I don’t mind either one, they both look nice to me. but in the end I went with the ‘V’ hand because it’s such a common Japanese gesture that I see all the time in anime but I didn’t have a single figure of a character doing it.

I don’t have the whole set currently but I plan on getting them all by next December. So far I have Kyon’s Sister, Tsuruya, and a Yuki that arrived damaged and needs to be replaced. If I had to only pick one of the below figures I’d go with my favorite character from the show Ryoko (she is in the blue). Also favorite character aside her figure looks the most beautiful and glamorous in my opinion.

4 Responses to Kyon’s Sister (FREEing) Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya

  1. meronpan says:

    kawaii~ ^_^ you just need some risqué kodomo no jikan figures and that will avert all the attention away from kyon’s sister ^^;

    that group shot makes me want to catch ’em all ^^;; in the meantime i’ll make do with just haruhi… if i do let myself splurge on another bunny it’ll definitely be ryoko ^_^

  2. Rady says:

    OMG~~! Freeing figures!!
    can you tell me how much it cost per one figure?

  3. lovelyduckie says:

    @Rady – Kyon’s sister was the cheapest at $65 for me, I think I might have even got her on sale at the time I bought her. All the rest are either about $99 (Mikuru & Haruhi) or $115 (Ryoko, Emiri,…) Definitely very VERY expensive but…man I love these figures. If I had to sell figures for money these would be some of the last I’d consider selling (even though they’re worth the most of all my figures).

  4. […] character in the series in a bunny outfit, so far (other then Emiri) I have Yuki, Tsuruya, and Kyon’s Sister. Go to the Review of Kyon’s Sister to see the original illustration […]

Leave a Reply

