Gothic Lolita Haruhi (Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya) Griffon

dscn0862

dscn0871dscn0903dscn0881dscn0893dscn0888

This is the Gothic Lolita Haruhi figure by Griffon, if you didn’t know Haruhi is from the show The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. Although she never actually wore the outfit in this figure in the anime series, there is a cute illustration of Haruhi, Mikuru, and Yuki all dressed in cute gothic/lolita clothing that this figure was inspired from.

lolita-haruhi

Griffon is releasing a figure of each of the ladies in the outfits above, and if you ask me they exceeded the original illustration with their figures. I really like that they have Haruhi standing up but still in essentially the same pose and making the same face. However, I’m really unhappy that with each figure from this trilogy the price spiked considerably with each one. I purchased Haruhi at $79.97, I pre-ordered Mikuru at $89.99, and last pre-ordered Yuki at $109.99. Some of you may be rolling around wondering why on earth I’m paying so MUCH! The answer is I absolutely adore the trio in this form and I would sell my entire Max Factory Haruhi figure set just to be able to keep them (if I had to). I think I officially have a fetish for gothic lolita figures, or maybe it’s more-so that I’ve always loved fancy dresses and frills but there have never really been that many figures (until now) that satisfied my existing fetish.

dscn0946

dscn0915dscn0919dscn0935dscn0937goth_loli

The main complaint I heard lodged against this figure (besides the price) was that this figure doesn’t feel like Haruhi. I think this figure is very characteristic of Haruhi and I can completely envision her doing this pose with that fun smile on her face after dressing up herself and Mikuru and Yuki. I think it’s cute that there is a figure set for a dress-up party that didn’t happen on screen but you could completely picture occurring anyway. Also maybe these outfits appear in the light novel? I haven’t read the light novels yet because I’m still hoping they’ll be licensed in the US.

dscn0996

dscn1032goth_loli_harudscn1019dscn1010dscn1002

There are so many beautiful details in this figure, I’m especially fond of the fact that Haruhi has a corset top to her dress. Nothing looks more elegant/fascinating to me then gorgeous corset tops on gowns. The roses seem especially lovely as well. I also love the whole red shoes and black and white striped socks thing, they remind me of that witch from the Wizard of Oz that had the house land on her! It’s figures like this that make me keep a closer eye on Griffon then any other figure company. I mean sure, nothing beats an awesome Alter/Max Factory figure, but I keep finding that Griffon has unique approaches to which characters, pose, and clothing they choose in their figures. They add a lot of flair to my shelf and I’m actually fond of those little bases with the plates displaying the character’s name.

dscn1030

dscn0968dscn0977dscn1027dscn0990dscn0991

This is my FAVORITE Haruhi figure! And once I get Mikuru and Yuki I guarantee you that they will be my favorite figure set. I can’t imagine myself ever getting tired of figures that look like this. Although if you’re the type that dislikes Griffon’s base style you may have a hard time loving this figure.

So BUY IT! If you can spare the cash of course. She is a hefty price but worth every penny!

9 Responses to Gothic Lolita Haruhi (Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya) Griffon

  1. kazearashi says:

    Had to cancel my Mikuru preorder because of the bad currency rate D: I choose to buy GSC Miku PVC instead… =P

  2. Snark says:

    The detail on her clothes looks gorgeous, but I don’t know…something about her face just doesn’t sit right with me…

  3. yumyu says:

    nice review. just like SNARK’s post, the face is kinda off. But, everything else looks very nice.

  4. lovelyduckie says:

    @ Kaze and Snark – That’s a really common complaint I hear, dunno why I just don’t see it.

  5. Rin says:

    This figure is just expensive…
    I want it but the price for it is a bit over the top for me…
    Well, still it’s a nice figure…
    Like the shoot you did!!!

  6. phossil says:

    Haruhi is showin us how perfect she looks in a gothic lolita dress..

  7. meronpan says:

    i can see how her face doesn’t look exactly like the source pic, but still feels very much haruhi to me. a little pricey, though at 1/7 not out of the norm i guess… yuki on the other hand… is that price before or after shipping? hlj has her for 9k yen before shipping… but jeez… 2k yen more for the hat and basket? ^^;;

  8. Maura says:

    another nice review. I think I’m gonna buy some ^^

  9. […] Enterprises…oh how I have waited and longed for you! I had been barely resisting buying the Gothic Lolita Haruhi as it was, and then…they announced this Mikuru…I crumbled SO FAST and decided the whole […]

Leave a Reply

