Emma of a Victorian Romance…Pierced?!

prototype-emma

So remember my grail list I posted ages ago? I said Revy (Alter) is the last older figure I wanted. I lied…there was another older figure I forgot to mention (yes besides Clayz Saber) and that figure is the Max Factory Emma. I saw her on eBay and I went for it, did I pay more then retail price for her? Sure did lol…how much more? I’m not telling! But I justified the price by telling myself that almost all decent figures these days seem to cost that much and I’d rather have this darling and classy Emma over a lot of the newer figures. Especially since it seems unlikely I’ll ever see another Emma figure released again.

emma-nose-mark

So what’s this about a piercing? Well this figure is in new/unopened condition but I immediately noticed a manufacturing flaw with her. There is a dot just above her left nostril, the dot is the same color as her hair and it looks like a mole to me, and my bf thought it looked more like a nose piercing (which I found a lot more amusing considering it’s Emma). Now as figure collectors we’re supposed to accept small flaws on our mass manufactured figures. But I DO NOT tolerate flaws on the faces of the figures, that’s just asking for too much. If the dot had been on the other side of her nose then I actually might have accepted her as she is. But she is looking back in a way that really makes that little dot noticeable. It’s a bit hard to see the dot in the picture, had issues getting a clear picture of it through the packaging.

So now I’m in a dilemna, I can open her up and see if I can somehow remove the dot. But once I open her my chances of returning and exchanging her are very tiny. So I contacted the seller about a possible exchange (without much hope) but to the seller’s credit he said he’d see what he can do and submitted a request to find another Emma figure. If I can’t get another Emma figure though…I don’t think I can keep this figure and feel comfortable about the price I paid for her. I might keep her if I got a partial refund though (that’s right I want her that bad). But if that’s not possible I’ll have to kiss her goodbye and move her from my Figures Owned list to my Figures Wished For list 😦

How tolerant are you of manufacturing flaws with your new figures?

6 Responses to Emma of a Victorian Romance…Pierced?!

  1. louki says:

    lol, you don’t have luck with figures. First the damaged Roberta, now the pierced Emma ^^;

    i will pray the god of figurines for you πŸ˜‰

  2. xjaymanx says:

    @Duckie-chan: Ahh, that’s too bad. Reminds me of my Maya (Tenjho Tenge) figure (by BOME). She was missing her sword-holding right hand! Haha. So I emailed a photo and Robert’s Anime Corner Store was more than happy to sent me a new one. I still have both figures, hehe… But unless it’s a noticeable limb, I’d probably tolerate the flaw and try to scrape the dot off. Carefully. ^_~

    P.S. Oh, thanx for the Toybox comment! I might have to try “xxxHolic” some time, lol.

  3. Blowfish says:

    Sucks to hear that she came with a flaw.
    I accept them aslong as its something minor.Id just try to remove it in your case but if this really bugs you that much give her back.theres no point in keeping a figure thatll never be worth your attention due to a flaw

  4. phossil says:

    Oh, no!!.. Do you think the pierce could be repaired with something?? because I dont think returning is an option..

  5. gordanham says:

    If they gave me a discount I would keep it. I mean, come one, It’s EMMA! But then again it is on her face so it’s all up to how you feel about it^^

  6. OpenHappy says:

    I build models/figures and collect them as well. I just finish this one: http://www.openhappy.com/hobby/exia_1_60_ng_ps.php The hobby is all about feeling happy while finding ways to accept imperfection. If you feel sad having the dot in the face, just return it. I am sure you will fail in love with a new one in the future πŸ™‚

Leave a comment