Miku Nendoroid (Vocaloid) Good Smile Company

This figure is of Miku from Vocaloid, the manufacturer is Good Smile Company and this happens to be Nendoroid #33 in the series. I got this nendoroid on the 2nd release and there is going to be at least 1 more release of this figure, it’s currently set for Winter ’08. If you want a spectacular list of every nendoroid released/announced take a peek at Hina’s Thread on the TL Forum. What is Vocaloid? It’s actually is a singing synthesizer software  that enables users to synthesize singing by just typing in lyrics and melody. However, if you’re like me, you may also know her from a friend linking you some silly YouTube videos like Levan Polkka or Kurutto, Odotte, Hatsune Miku. The way I have her displayed above is how I have her on my shelf. I just absolutely love that silly face and her leek, just looking at her makes my day a little brighter and I’d love to have another for my desk at work. There is a Limited Edition of Miku with other silly faces and two leeks but honestly I think this is the better face. But many people seem determined to have nendoroid Miku with two leeks and the other faces despite the extra expense for the other version. You can judge for yourself which you prefer by looking at the Prototype Pictures of the WonFes ’08 Miku Nendoroid.

These are all the parts Miku comes with. I’m not really sure why they have an extra front hair piece since it looks the exact same as the other one she comes with, but there it is. The left face has some black paint spots on the ears that shouldn’t be there, but those spots are completely hidden when you put the face on her. I actually don’t like the bent leg piece. I think when I put it on her it just makes her look awkward.

The hair on Miku is done really well, you can move it up and down on the joints at her head and the hair will easily stay in the position you put it in. Not to mention that the joints where the hair attaches to the head is well hidden from the front view. The base holding Miku also functions well enough, it’s setup so you pretty much just lift her out of the base when you want to change something. I know I’ve had complaints about GSC’s nendoroid bases in the past but I have no complaints on this one.

I like the face with her mouth open 2nd best, if I wasn’t buying the 1/8th PVC figure I’d probably display her with this face since it’s so pretty. BUT since the 1/8th PVC figure will show off her pretty face I figure I’ll put my favorite silly face on the nendoroid. How many other people out there somehow ended up pre-ordering the nendoroid, figma, and 18th PVC of this character without realizing it? This is the only character I will have so many repeats of in the same outfit.

Of all my nendoroid (pictured above) Miku is my favorite. In my opinion this nendoroid lives up to all the hype around this character. A very worthwhile nendoroid.

3 Responses to Miku Nendoroid (Vocaloid) Good Smile Company

  1. phossil says:

    Super chibi Miku~Power!!
    Nendoroid and Figma Miku are awesome!!

  2. Persocom says:

    I didn’t bother with the 1/8th but I did jump on the figma, and I had been waiting out for the figma before ordering the nendo, it was sold out by the time I had decided to give nendos a try. I’ll be getting my Miku nendoroid in December with the 3rd release. I got a shirt and figma. She’s one of my favorite characters and I love her music. Heck I run the Miku group over at tsuki board XD

  3. meronpan says:

    i still don’t quite understand all the miku craziness in general, but i definitely get the figure side of it ^_^ kawaii! an honored part of my collection, currently singing, leek in hand on my shelf.

Leave a comment