My Kitties – Ami and Rini

ami crazy

So as many of you know I just moved to a house and can now have pets! So I took back the cats my parents bought my sister and I when I was in high school. They’re named Ami (above) and Rini (below). And if a few anime fans are scratching their heads right now at the familiarity of those names, the answer is yes…yes I did name the cats after anime characters. Can anyone guess which series? Anyway these little cuties are the reason I have absolutely no figures on display right now, and probably won’t have any on display until next fall. If you’re wondering what Ami is doing, it was actually just a big yawn I caught at just the right moment.

rini-4

Amy is our pretty lady, she is the type of cat that walks around with a lot of dignity and poise, but she is very lovey dovey and not stuck up. She doesn’t fall for the old laser pointer trick but she likes feathery toys. She is also very territorial and is the alpha cat of the set. This cat is the one that’s considered mine, the other one takes more to my sister. We actually temporarily lost Ami within the first week of having her, the darn thing found a way into the ceiling and went exploring. This one is the “curious cat”.

ami

amy-5amy3amy-4

And Rini has far too many toes, she is triple pawed, so she sort of has a makeshift thumb. Take that evolution! Cats are catching up to humans! This one can scoop things up, it’s funny to see her pick up marbles. Ever question my sanity over the amount of money I spend on anime and manga? This cat cost my family about what my collection of manga is valued at. That’s right it’s a $5,000 cat. I bet you’ve never seen a $5,000 cat before! She is technically our most valuable possession. Why is a tubby cat with too many toes worth so much? She likes to eat things she shouldn’t, and my parents paid for two $2500 surgeries to save her life. The darn thing still hasn’t learned either. She has already eaten my tank top, a sweatshirt, a window shade, and who knows what else. Well she didn’t eat the whole thing but she likes to cut the strings on all these items with her teeth. This one is the “sacredy cat” and is constantly running from every sound. Remember how I lost Ami in the ceiling? I lost this one for a whole day, turns out she was hiding in a closed drawer in the chest. She got into the closed drawer from the open one above it.

rini

rinipawsrini-3rini2

I wouldn’t say I’m a cat person, I’d say I’m a fan of any pet that has a good personality. I absolutely love dogs too. But I hate all pets that are stuck up. I have no idea what I’ll do if I ever get a pet where the only time they want anything to do with me is when I feed them.

Anyone guess the anime they’re named after?

15 Responses to My Kitties – Ami and Rini

  1. Panther says:

    Cute overload. I love cats. Too bad Rini is so scaredy haha.

  2. Kitties!~

    >I lost this one for a whole day, turns out she was hiding in a closed drawer in the chest.
    Reminds me of an episode of Chi’s Sweet Home. xD

  3. gordanham says:

    Cute tabbies>.<
    I have to say that I am a cat purrson to(Heh-heh, get it?^^;)
    We have one black cat and one peach tabby.
    I think that your post has inspired me to make my own.
    My friends cat had to have surgery because she likes eating thinks too. She ate part of one of those faom peticure(?) things that go between your toes and it messed with her kideys. She made it threw okay though.

  4. kazearashi says:

    Cute!!! xD This reminds me of the cat in this video. ^^

  5. Blowfish says:

    Haha the first picture kinda reminded me of The Exorcist ^^

    Im glad that you are finally able to take your kitties with you!Since you arent displaying any figures I take the arrival of a big cabinet this fall as granted? 😀

  6. Persocom says:

    whoa that’s one expensive kitty. they both look like fun cats to be around, wish ours wasn’t such a lazy little turd these days.

  7. lovelyduckie says:

    They’re named after Sailor Moon characters 🙂 although no one tried guessing 😦

    @ Panther – She runs from us all the time when we walk towards her. She has to be approached very calmly.

    @ Coco – I’ve been debating if I should try that show or not.

    @ gordan – I adore tabbies so mucch. Someday I want an orange one that’s a girl (I’ll name her Nami). But I don’t plan on ever owning 3 cats at once so I won’t be getting another for a long time.

    @ Kaze – That was a damn cute cat. I just sent that video to my friend at work, thanks.

    @ Blowfish – I’m HOPING that I’ll get at least 1 this fall. My bf offered to build them for me but he likes to procrastinate and there is still a lot of other settlilng ini hard work to be done.

    @ Persocom – hehehe lazy little turds, that makes them sound cute. You should do a post about them.

  8. J says:

    Gah if I replied earlier I would have said sailormoon!!!! 😦 lol

  9. xJAYMANx says:

    @Duckie-chan: Awww, thanx… But I think we should thank FlyingBlow (I mean, Blowfish, lol) for the diagram idea! Then Jem-chan and I just added some steroids to them, haha… Ah, I didn’t intend to change people’s minds about “Akikan”! But I usually give an anime a *few* episodes anyway. Plus my tastes are broader than most, it seems. And I tend to finish what I start too, lol. So no pressure!… Wait, sign just below Melon’s knee? Which sign is that? Never noticed a sign!… As for “K-On”, no need to hurry. Just another 4-girl high-school comedy, right? Depends on whether or not u like to ride the “trend” wave like many otaku do, haha. ^_^

  10. xJAYMANx says:

    @Duckie-chan: Hehe, exactly! That describes my typical watching behavior too. Both in commitment and marathons. But watching week-to-week like “Code Geass” and “K-On” is can be fun too. Just harder to remember, lol… Ahh, yeah, I see it! And according to bigger pics on sites like this one, seems like the sign supports one knee, while a pole supports the other knee. Unique, but perhaps not for everyone. ^_^;

  11. Rin says:

    So cute!!!!!!
    I have cats aswell!!!!
    Well, mine can make ying yang sign when they sleep together…
    Still, really kawaii kitties!!!

  12. Otaku Dan says:

    can i make a lolcat pic from the first picture?

  13. lovelyduckie says:

    @ J – Darn I spoiled it too soon!

    @ Jay – Replied on your blog 🙂

    @ Rin – I miss the days when mine cuddled with each other all the time. They’re a bit more distant from each other these days.

    @ dan – I was thinking that might make a good lolcat, feel free to use that picture. But show me after you’re done, I have to show it off to my friend that’s a fan of lolcats. After all everyone wants to own an lolcat 🙂

  14. […] I am definitely a cat person and after seeing Lovelydukie’s post here:https://lovelyduckie.wordpress.com/2009/04/24/my-kitties-ami-and-rini/ […]

  15. gordanham says:

    I finally got he post about my cats up at my blog. I also have a new haul post.

Leave a comment