Gothic Lolita Rei (Evangelion) Kotobukiya

p1010277

p1010273p1010267p1010272

This figure is of Rei from the anime Neon Genesis Evangelion, although Rei never wore an outfit of this type in the series (at least not that I remember). Rei in this outfit was created to accompany the Asuka you see there in the back. I believe the Asuka outfit and pose was based off of a random drawing made by the original creator. This pair was made by Kotobukiya and are actually Kotobukiya US figures. What is a  Kotobukiya US figure you ask? They’re figures that Kotobukiya release directly to the US and are sold at a reduced price, from what I’ve seen they do not differ from the Japanese figures at all. They just have a much nicer pricetag on them, these guys cost me $35 a pop. Well worth the money, they look simply wonderful together. Although you have to wait longer then the Japanese street date to get them.

p1010171

p1010221p1010223p1010228

I mentioned this in the hauls post with Rei, but I bought Rei just to accompany Asuka (basically an ornament to make Asuka look even better) but I like this Rei more then I like the Asuka! In the prototype pictures I thought the hat looked dumb, but the way I have her on my shelves she looks damn cute in the hat, it pulls the outfit together nicely. I took the hat off for the pictures where I do a 360 around the figure because it falls off real easy when you move her. It’s quite stable if you’re not actively touching Rei though.

p1010237

p1010208p1010212p1010214

I actually took twice as many pictures as you see here. I took a ton with my standard old white poster background. But when I was reviewing the images I realized how much better these pictures turned out even though I used the same lighting scheme for both. I guess it’s better to use cloth for a background since it’s less reflective? Well either way her skin had a tone to it that I didn’t like when I used the poster board background. So here on out I’ll be using nothing but cloth!

rei-2

p1010187p1010196p1010205p1010249

I definitely have a gothic lolita figure fetish and it seems like the figure industry figured that out this year. There are just so many frilly/lovely/elegant gothic lolita figures coming out, there are so many of all my favorite characters that I can’t keep up! I’m actually not a HUGE Evangelion fan but I admire the female cast quite a bit, they were really designed with great beauty and care. So it’s hard to resist well done figures of them.

p1010197

p1010243p1010242

10 Responses to Gothic Lolita Rei (Evangelion) Kotobukiya

  1. Blowfish says:

    Interesting turn of events…Buying Rei to support Asuka and liking her more in the end ^^

    35$? Thats a steal!

    If i recall it right there was a GothLoli drawing depicting Asuka from way back and they just designed a Rei to accompany her.Cant remember a drawing of Rei in such an outfit

  2. Otaku Dan says:

    holy crap, 35 dollars for that figure is awesome. I would like to get both of those figures someday

  3. Persocom says:

    I think I also prefer the Rei out of the two. Very nice figures for such a good price!

  4. xJAYMANx says:

    @Blowfish: LOL, thanx for the link. ^_^

    @Lovely: Nice! Can’t get one without the other. Glad I’m not the only one with a fetish for “Evangelion Gothloli” pairs, lol. In my case, times two. ^_~

  5. lovelyduckie says:

    @ OtakuDan – Before the recent rise in figure prices Kotobukiya US prices were even lower at about $27.99. At least that’s what it cost me to pre-order their Belldandy in her Goddess outfit.

    @ Blowfish – Ah you’re right and here I was ready to tip my hat off to Kotobukiya for creating such a unique Rei design. Although I def prefer this Gothic Lolita Asuka to her other outfit in that link. I’m not a fan of dresses with big shoulders.

    @ xJaymanx – Ah does that mean you have the Rei that was recently re-released of her with the chain around her neck? I think I remember a black corset top with a white frilly skirt.

  6. xJAYMANx says:

    @Lovely: And u would be correct, lol.

    But wait~ when was the re-release? I acquired mine in Dec 2006. Was that the first release? But my 1/6th resin-chained Rei has the white corset with black skirt. Same one you’re thinking?

  7. lovelyduckie says:

    @ xJaymanX – For some reason I’m having issues loading the posts on you blog so I can’t see what you linked (I know I saw correctly before too so this frustrating). If what you linked is the Amie-Grand one then yes, pre-orders are currently open for the re-release of her.

    http://www.1999.co.jp/eng/10081330

    She has a white top and a black skirt you are correct

  8. xJAYMANx says:

    @Lovely: Hmm, that’s the right figure, but for some reason, it’s listing both PVC at the top, then polystone in the description. Mine is *not* the PVC version, lol.

    P.S. I think I fixed the blog issue. I finally decided to remove the “snowstorm” Javascript effect, lol. >_<

  9. […] Treadmill with 2nd-half of episode 6/20 of “BSG – S4″: Same 1.25 mi stats. Hehe, Lovelyduckie. A visit by Coley, […]

Leave a Reply

