Gamestop Grumblings

gamestop

So I had a bit of a video game shopping spree in the used Gamecube section of Gamestop when I stopped by to pick up a copy of Apollo Justice (DS). Typically I buy my games on Amazon but it was sold out at the time and I was worried it would go Out of Print. I bought Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles for $7.99, Puyo Pop Fever for $6.99, and Baten Kaitos for $9.99. All with the original box, booklet, and a disc in wonderful condition. I LOOOVE that the Wii is backwards compatible, now I can go back and play the few GC games I actually wanted to play around with. Not only that but GC games are sold at dirt cheap prices!

gamestop-stickers

But all these positives are practically KILLED over how Gamestop puts their stickers on their used games! Not only are the stickers already incredibly annoying to take off in general but they actually bother to pull out the piece of paper with the cover art and put the bright yellow price sticker right onto the picture! *WAILS* In all honestly this is one of the MAIN reasons I don’t buy from Gamestop anymore. It takes so much effort to take off the sticker and I usually end up slightly damaging the cover a bit. I slowly pull off as much as I can and then rub it (carefully) with rubbing alcohol. This wouldn’t be so bad if they didn’t put at least 3 stickes on each game! One on the front cover, one on the side, and one on the back cover. The Puyo Pop game even had 2 extra stickers on top of those 3 to promote something dumb. If only the stickers were on the plastic part I could easily rub off the sticker and all its residue without damaging anything.

I don’t really recommend the method I choose. After I looked up online other methods to remove the stickers with minimal damage, I’m not sure if these actually do work better then what I did.

-Lighter Fluid
-Blow Dryer (heat up glue on sticker and then peel)
-WD-40
-Hydrogen Peroxide

So I saved a lot of money buying these games used…but I also wasted a lot of time trying to restore them to their condition before they were cruelly stickered. I get a little bothered when I see the spots where I accidentally scratched the cover art with my nail.

Do you have a sticker removing method?

Or do you not even care about the stickers and just leave them on?

10 Responses to Gamestop Grumblings

  1. Kairu Ishimaru says:

    Im broke. OH NO.

  2. lovelyduckie says:

    Well even those that are broke right now could probably afford a $6.99 – $9.99 game if they set their mind to it.

    EDIT: Ah never mind was reading your blog and saw you’re 15, ya I hear you about being broke at that age. Now I have a job and am making enough money to buy whatever game on whatever console I want…but not enough time to play the games. When I was 15 I got maybe 2 games a year as presents and I played them over and over. I sometimes wish I could send just 5 of my games back in time to my poor young self.

  3. kazearashi says:

    I used to buy quite a lot of games, but don’t really care about the stickers and just leave them on… But then again in here they usually never put the price stickers tag… lol So we just straight away ask the price and purchase… 😄

  4. Riiana Doon says:

    Those stickers are annoying but I usually just leave them on. I don’t like going through a lot of time to remove those stupid stickers.

  5. gordon says:

    a simple sticker remover will do the trick. i use a brand call “goo gone”, works very well.

  6. meronpan says:

    for me the condition of the disk is pretty much all i care about… so i just let the stickers be. i mean, if the game’s in good condition i try to keep it that way, but i guess i just give up when it comes to used games in defaced packaging ^^;

  7. Allyn Gibson says:

    Not only are the stickers already incredibly annoying to take off in general but they actually bother to pull out the piece of paper with the cover art and put the bright yellow price sticker right onto the picture!

    Speaking as a former EB Games/GameStop manager…

    Stores put stickers on the spine because of something they have to do called “Title On Hand” counts. Each day of the week, an employee needs to take a scanner and scan each case of a given section on the shelf. When it’s done, a report is run that tells the store which games aren’t on display on the shelf. If you notice, the part of the sticker that can be seen from the side is the barcode that gets scanned.

    Some stores put the stickers inside the case so that the stickers don’t come off or get mangled.

    When I was a manager, I resisted putting the stickers on the spine; I thought it was pure laziness. The games front-faced on the shelf have a bar code on the front. The games spined on the bottom, it’s ridiculously easy to pull them off the shelf in a single go and scan them. What did Uncle Scrooge always say on DuckTales – “Work smart, not hard.” Affixing all the extra stickers was, in my opinion, an excessive waste of time upfront for minimal, if any, gain.

    In the two years since I’ve left, there’s not a GameStop I’ve visited that hasn’t had the barcode stickers on the spine, so my guess is that it’s now expected to be done.

  8. lovelyduckie says:

    @ Allyn – That was really informative I had just assumed the sticker on the spine was for the customer’s benefit alone (i.e. advertising price). I didn’t realize it benefited the employees in terms of keeping track of stock and such. Well at least why it’s put under the cover makes some sense. Before it just seemed so senseless and unnecessary. I feel a bit better about it.

  9. If you ever want to hear a reader’s feedback 🙂 , I rate this post for 4/5. Detailed info, but I have to go to that damn yahoo to find the missed parts. Thanks, anyway!

Leave a Reply

