New Camera!? Lighting Help!?

camera_1

So I got an early Christmas gift from the boyfriend and it happens to be an AMAZING new camera, the Lumix DMC-TZ5K (from Panasonic)! I don’t mind that I got my Christmas gift early, the timing of when Christmas gifts doesn’t really bother me in situations where the person could really get a lot of use out of the gift if given earlier. Hell my sister got her Christmas gift weeks ago, she wanted some of those Ugg boots and wanted to wear them before it started snowing (ironic, yes I know). The great thing about this camera is that it has a good anti-shake system. I actually used to take about 100 pictures of each figure with the old camera just to get a few crisp pictures. My old camera served me well and initially cost a lot more (bought it about 3-4 years ago) but this one is soooo much better! I just love it when such superior technology is sold for so much less!

camera_5camera_2camera_7

Lumix DMC-TZ5K (from Panasonic)
-9.0 megapixel sensor
-10X optical zoom Leica lens
-Optical Image Stabilization
-3.0″ rear LCD
-Innovative iA mode
-Face Detection
-Movie mode can capture 1280×720 HD movies at 30fps
-Clipboard mode lets you take pictures of maps, schedules, etc..
camera_4camera_3camera_6

But now that my camera issues have been resolved I need to address how I light figures when I take pictures of them. As of right now I use natural lighting from a window in my room. I’ve attempted to find artificial lighting guides online, but they really weren’t helpful for my figure lighting needs. WCloudx has a great post about his setup (seen below) but I couldn’t mimick it and get the same results for some reason! My room bulbs are white but for some reason they give a yellow-ish hue to my figures. When I tried to use my desk lamps I would create shadows with the first one and then try to use the second desk lamp to counteract the shadows the first one created. But I couldn’t get rid of the shadows I made.

wcloud_setup

PS – The next bunch of figure reviews I post will probably be from using the old camera, I hate to waste all that effort I put into taking those pictures.

Does anyone have any lighting advice I could use? Or a link to a guide that helped them in the past?

9 Responses to New Camera!? Lighting Help!?

  1. Bob says:

    If you are using natural light, you will have an issue with normal lights as fill because sunlight is “whiter” than light bulb light. You can try fluorescent bulbs or the “all spectrum” light bulbs that are closer to sunlight. Otherwise, if it’s a direct light, you can try crinkling up some alumnium foil on a piece of poster board to use as a reflector/diffuser on the opposite of the figure from the window. This light will be the same color white as your main light source. Good luck!

  2. lovelyduckie says:

    @ Bob – I’m so glad you told me what kind of bulbs to buy. I’m definitely going to try it! Thanks!

  3. Claudette says:

    I got the same camera for my B-day in july and I´m still learning how to use properly but the truth it´s that is a great camera.

  4. Maura says:

    0___________________________0

    *jaw drops, starts to drool, Little Neko is in love with the camera*

    Haha your camera is so beautiful. For Christmas I pray for a video camera =D I don’t got any lighting advice since I’m not super “smart” when it comes to do alot of cool things with the camera. Anyways thanks for the comment on my friends site.

  5. phossil says:

    I have not yet taked any pictures using inside lightning (only natural) but I think you’re getting the yellow-ish hue because of the bulbs you use.

  6. BangBang! says:

    How much does it cost? I’m thinking of buying one *3*

  7. lovelyduckie says:

    @ BangBang! – It was free for me since it was a gift but it was about $225 from Newegg. My other camera was a gift too actually…digital cameras seem to be something I use all the time yet, I guess I refuse to set aside money for them.

  8. Rin says:

    I recommend using 3 lights to have a brighter picture when doing shoots…

Leave a Reply

