Blood Types

 
As I got more and more involved in manga I began to notice that in the character profile pages blood types were mentioned. The first time I saw it I thought the author was just being funny/cute about some irrelevant fact about the character. But soon I began noticing it in all my series. Although I raised an eyebrow at that random fact I never really bothered to look up why it was mentioned. I just thought that blood type was a physical characteristic that the Japanese liked to share and nothing more.

After watching a few anime series I finally caught on to what the characters were implying when they mention their blood type. Off the top of my head a series that explains it fairly well (indirectly) is Lucky Star in episode 9. Blood types in Japan are the eastern equivalent of a zodiac sign (astrology), so when you tell someone you blood type in Japan it’s like saying “Hi I’m an Aquarius” . This belief that your personality is derived from your blood type was started in 1927 by Takeji Furukawain. Although he had no credentials in the field, and scientists objected to the blood type personality theory strongly, the media and public still took to it.

Type A
Calm in emergencies, strive for success, very responsible, and are perfectionists. Although they try to get along with everyone they often feel out of place. This is considered to be the most creative (and artistic) type.
Examples: Sakura (Cardcaptor Sakura), Yuki (Fruits Basket), Kyo (Fruits Basket)

Type B
More in touch with their thoughts than with their feelings so are often seen as cold. The most practical blood type. Once undertaking a project they are completely dedicated and involved in it until completed. Tend to be less cooperative and do things by their own rules. The majority of Japan is type B.
Eaxmples: Naruto (Naruto), Kagami (Lucky Star), Sagara (Rurouni Kenshin)

Type AB
Any combination of traits from both A and B types. The unpredictable type, their moods/attitudes may be prone to quickly changing. Responsible and trustworthy but can only handle so much responsibility.
Examples: Misa (Deathnote), Tomoe (Sailor Moon), Gaara (Naruto)

Type O
Have a lot of confidence, values the opinions of those around them, and are often the center of attention. Will excitedly start many projects but rarely actually completes any of them. Outgoing, energetic, and sociable but not dependable. Will often speak whats on their mind.
Examples: Goku (Dragonball), Vash (Trigun), Rin (Fate: Stay/Night)

A is most compatible with A and AB.
B
is most compatible with B and AB.
AB
is most compatible with AB, B, A, and O.
O
is most compatible with O and AB.

Based on this basic knowledge of blood types can you guess the blood types of any of these characters?

Blood Type Answers

I think the blood type thing is cute and probably a great conversation starter (in Japan), it’s also kind of interesting that they’d go so far as to give fictional characters blood types. But personally I don’t care for this sort of thing (Myers Briggs, Astrology, etc…). I don’t like anything that tries to summarize and categorize people and their personalities. I also sometimes wonder that in giving their characters blood types authors create limitations on how the characters can develop, obviously I have no idea if that concern is really true. Although one time I had to take a Myers Briggs test for school and they said my type was “the type that dislikes this category system”…so I guess they showed me 😛

7 Responses to Blood Types

  1. kazearashi says:

    It’s not irrelevant fact actually. It’s kind of needed in making characters. My lecturer said that when you make a character, you must think of the character backgrounds both physical and traits, and also the story about the character… It’s quite important in making a good character.. ^^

    Well I also never bothered to check though, but that’s the view of the audience.., Since now I’m also creating stories I need to look about this small parts as well… xD Working on school projects ^^;;

  2. phossil says:

    Oh, I had take the little test and I got wrong almost the half of them …hehehe

    Well acording to this explanation, I think I would be Type B or probably AB but Im really type O and I dont think it fits entirely to me…

  3. lovelyduckie says:

    @ Kaze – Blood types are relevant in character creation? Do you mean just as a physical trait or the implied personality trait?

    @ Phossil – If you ask me it’s a bit too tough since type AB can have either A or B characteristics. But apparantly if there is a “villain” character or a traitor among the characters they’re typically type AB. The heros are ususally made out to be Type O.

  4. Lol, I totally don’t match my blood type. ^^
    I wonder if this takes recessive alleles into account like blood type AO and BO.

  5. kazearashi says:

    @Lovelyduckie> Both of them is relevant to make a character, because from there then you can develop your character further =D

  6. Rin says:

    Hard to guess…
    I’m basically an A or O…
    I have no clue…serious, I don’t know my blood type…

  7. Blowfish says:

    Im Zero! Like most people in Germany….Does that mean were all heroes? ^_^

Leave a Reply

