September Haul Part 2

This haul is quite a bit smaller then the last one, and I believe it will also quite a bit smaller than the next BUT these are still a lot of items to get in one day so it seemed post worthy. Especially because there are a few items here I waited a long time for, either because I had to hunt them or because I had to wait for the release, or a price drop. First on the bottom right is Disgaea 3 with the bonus soundtrack (I never listen to the bonus soundtracks I don’t know about the rest of you). Do I own a Playstation 3? No, there aren’t enough video games on the console that appeal to me yet so I’m waiting for price drops as I wait for my games. BUT Disgaea 1 and 2 became a pain in the butt to find for a while and I didn’t want to risk buying my PS3 and then finding out it costs $80-$100 to find a decent copy of Disgaea 3. I don’t think that will be the case for the 3rd game (like it was for the first) but I don’t want to have any regrets so better safe then sorry. Atlus games tend to be unpredictable so they’re probably the only types of games I’d buy for the PS3 ahead of time, and even then only certain ones.

Next is Midori Days volume 3 which took FOREVER to track down! I watched the anime ages ago and loved it but felt the story probably had more to it so I vowed to read the manga. Now…I got distracted by other manga series and before I knew it tracking down volumes 2 and 3 of this series was a major pain. I found volume 2 on eBay at retail but alas I had to wait many months to find volume 3 at retail price. I actually would have been willing to pay up to $30 for this volume because the only one I ever saw up for sale was from some idiot on amazon who thinks he is going to get $700 for a single volume of manga. Now that it’s in my hands I’ve ordered volumes 4-8 and I plan on reading them all at once when they arrive.

One Piece: Unlimited Adventure for the Wii. I’ve been interested in this game since it first was released. I’m a HUGE One Piece fan and this one is more Adventure oriented to boot (not a fighter game like the others). But I was still unsure of if it was worth $40 so I decided to wait until the price dropped to $20. It recently did that on Amazon right before it sold out so I swooped in and bought what I believe was their last copy. Whether it is AWFUL or entertaining I have no regrets since I paid only $20.

Mikuru version 1 by Max Factory, this character is from the anime series the Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. This figure became a big pain in the butt to find at retail price and I had actually given up on finding her but I saw one on eBay and on a whim bid up to retail price and was (of course) outbid. But I got a 2nd chance offer on eBay at $55…which I naturally accepted. I’ll be doing a review on her shortly (right after I take pictures of Moka and Usopp from my last haul).

A small (trading?) figure of Chi bi Kaiyodo. Kaiyodo doesn’t always put out the best quality so as cheap as this figure looks I’d believe it’s an authentic Kaiyodo figure. So why did I want such a cheap small figure? well it was cheap (#1) and small is good for my quickly filling shelves but…I think that is a wonderful pose and I love the prop. Were this a gorgeous 1/8 PVC figure I think I’d melt over it. Although oddly enough the seller’s marketing tactics to SELL this figure really turned me away from it, for the description they put

“Sexy Chobits sitting on the sofa waiting for you…

please order me and I’ll arrive at your doorstep to service you.”

Kind of bothers me that sellers seem to think that the best way to sell stuff to anime fans is to make it sound perverted. Seems like some sellers automatically put “SEXY” in at the front of the title of every anime figure they sell. It’s ridiculous, one time I came a cross a figure of Edward Elric that was titled “SEXY Edward Elric Full Metal Alchemist Figure!” Now Edward Elric is a lot of amazing things…but sexy is not one of them.

I like the Chi figure but she isn’t worth her own figure shoot so here are a few images below, since there will be none later.

One Response to September Haul Part 2

  1. Persocom says:

    Mikuru and Chi! That Mikuru figure looks great. I really do want to get ahold of that Chi figure as well, it looks good although it’s so tiny. It’s a shame people sell things like that, waiting to service you… lame. I haven’t jumped on the PS3 wagon yet, I’m quite behind on my gaming.

Leave a Reply

