Tabitha (Kotobukiya) The Familar of Zero

This character is Tabitha from The Familar of Zero (also known as Zero no Tsukaima) and the figure is made by Kotobukiya. The Familar of Zero was originally a light novel series but it also was turned into an anime in 2006. I have yet to see the anime or read the light novel series (but it’s on my to do list). So I bought this figure without knowing the character. I don’t do this TOO often (buying a figure from an anime I’ve never seen) but there are exceptions. I saw that this figure was under $35 at my favorite figure store and it was an impulse buy. So what made me buy this figure? Well…she looks so magical, I really liked the way she is holding her staff and her cape flying behind her makes it look like she is casting a powerful spell. Almost all of my figures are warriors that use weapons that cause physical damage, it seemed like it would be a nice addition to have such a magically oriented figure. After all in video games a good RPG party usually has at least 1 caster! If my figures were ever to have to battle some unknown intruder foes their party would be unbalanced!!!

I also really liked the blue color of her hair and the fact that she has glasses. Although I do have a few complaints. My NUMBER ONE complaint is that blue support under her cape. Had I realized that was there I actually would have skipped getting this figure. But I’m not so distraught by it that I’d sell her. That support should be clear period, I don’t care that it matches her base. Why do some manufacturers insist on choosing such bright colors for support pieces? A support piece like that should be crystal clear so it’s more subtle. I was debating having her wear the cape and taking away that support but…I’m torn over if she’ll be ok. It’s hard to position her in a way so that the blue support stick support isn’t noticeable.

My other complaint is something that I think may be the case for almost all glasses wearing figures…the fact that her glasses are just the lower frames. I’m not sure if this is done to make manufacturing easier or because it would be harder to see her eyes if her glasses actually did have fake lenses. I’m really not sure I like this about glasses characters and may avoid PVC figures with these kinds of glasses from here on out. It makes them look silly in the close-up pictures in my opinion. I also later found out that this character apparently has a cute dragon companion…if they added that dragon onto the base of this figure I’m sure I’d be ridiculously happy with it. As you can see in the pictures above that I could remove the cape and avoid using that blue support stand altogether…but lets face it that capes MAKES this figure. She loses almost all her presence without that cape.

Recently Kotobukiya announced a re-release of their figure of Louise and she will look simply amazing with my Tabitha! They will be my Magical Duo!

So pretty much I really like this figure but am inconvenienced by how that support stand looks.

 

6 Responses to Tabitha (Kotobukiya) The Familar of Zero

  1. Persocom says:

    My wife and I have been thinking about getting the Tabitha figure, and your review made me have second thoughts but then again I’m starting to think she’s not so bad after all. Will have to show my wife (She’s in bed) tomorrow and see what she thinks. Either way thanks for reviewing her! First time I’ve seen more than a small picture of her ^^ I’m adding you to my blogroll as well.

  2. lovelyduckie says:

    As long as you like the pictures and don’t mind that support stand I say go for it 🙂 My only real issue with her is my dislike of the color of that support stand. Sometimes I get too picky about little things that I should really accept by now in figures. Like the need for extra support stands in dynamic/awesome poses.

    I’ve been meaning to make a Blog Roll myself, I’d like to add you as well.

  3. meronpan says:

    had no idea she had a support for her cape. i agree, terrible decision to make it blue -_-

  4. How do you get the cape on? I’m having a hard time figuring that out. Does her head come off? Or is there some other trick to getting the cape on?

  5. lovelyduckie says:

    @ brow – Yes the head definitely comes off. Mine was really wedged in there and it took an uncomfortable amount of effort to take the head off and put it back on. Her neck piece is also surprisingly long if I remember right too. So pull away, as long as you’re careful nothing should break.

  6. I’ll give it a try, but man pulling on her head like that is freaking me out. O_o;

    Hopefully once it’s off, I can get it back on.

Leave a Reply

