Alice (POP Wonderland) Alter

p1010408

p1010415p1010417p1010420p1010423

This is Alice by Alter and she is from POP Wonderland. From what I understand POP Wonderland is a manga for children that re-tells a lot of classic European fairytails and other stories (ex: Thumbelina, Little Red Riding Hood). It’s been soooooo long since I’ve done a review! I actually took these pictures many months ago but didn’t have a chance to pick out the better ones and post the review!

p1010459

p1010430alice-backp1010449p1010464p1010485

I almost didn’t order Alice, she was pretty expensive (for me) at the time she was released. I wasn’t used to paying anymore then about $50-$60 for figures back then. Besides the price I was mainly hesitant because I’m not very into moe characters, but Alice is a different kind of moe figure that is actually pure. Not the kind of moe that has an innocent/embarassed look on her face like someone is about to ravage her. If for some reason I had to sell the majority of my collection I’d definitely try and hold onto this Alice. I don’t think I appropriately captured it in the pictures but the shades of blue and green selected to be used in this figure are particularly lovely and complimenting. Her feet are also just so darn cute! I love their pose. My thoughts on the worm? The Chesire cat would have been a better partner but his bright purple colors might have taken away some of the peaceful flow of the colors of the figure. So I’m alright with the worm. Alice is definitely a worthwhile figure but her asking price might be a bit high since she came out a while ago and didn’t stay in stock anywhere for very long.

All my closer up pictures came out like crap for some reason, so there is only that one thumbnail of that.

NEXT TIME I’ll be doing the POP Wonderland Little Red Riding hood. Alice looks great next to her red-hooded counterpart!

7 Responses to Alice (POP Wonderland) Alter

  1. xJAYMANx says:

    @Luckie-chan: Yeah, if she’s 1/8-scale, then $70-80 could be pushing it, hehe. Then again, the quality of figures has definitely improved in the last few years (even if our incomes haven’t, lol). Nonetheless, the Japanese interpretation of a timeless Western character is quite appealing!

    P.S. As for the crappy close-ups, maybe your camera doesn’t have a “macro” setting? Because if it does, it’s not working very well in this light, lol. >_<;

  2. xJAYMANx says:

    P.P.S. Although that one final close-up came out pretty decently. Not bad! ^_^

  3. gordanham says:

    Great photos^^
    It’s hard to fnd this figure now

  4. lovelyduckie says:

    @ jay – These photos were the first ones I tried to take with my new camera and new lighting method. I may have been a bit green at assembling the lighting right. I’m hoping to start using natural lighting now that the season have changed and I have a yard. She was real expensive (for the time I bought her at) and I’m glad I took the leap. Although these days it seems I’m making a $70 leap more and more often with rising prices.

    @ gordan – I don’t often see her around, I can’t remember the last time I saw her on eBay but I don’t look for her too often.

  5. xJAYMANx says:

    @Dovely-chan: Ah, gotcha. Can’t wait for the next batch, hehe. Although if u waited a few months, u might’ve found an Alice bootleg with only a few splotches and smudges at a mere fraction of the genuine price! JK-JK-JK, lol. ^o^;

  6. Persocom says:

    nice figure, she’s cute. She looks like something even people who don’t like anime could buy and love ^^ I, myself would prefer an American McGee’s style Alice XD

  7. Leonia says:

    As you, I have now Alice Pop Wonderland. She is wonderful, so sweet and cute (and hard to find!). I’am really happy to purchase her (I have too make a reviews of her on my website if you can see it).

    Your shooting is great, with nicely pictures ! Congratulation for this reviews and your purchase ^^

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

